Why does my license daemon show the status "unused"? (LicenseMonitor)

This is a normal behavior. The unused listing is essentially a placeholder. When LM starts, all license daemons are assigned the status unused. When a license daemon is added to manage a new license server, this is also true.

As soon as an FLEXlm "stat" job runs that shows usage for any of the features managed by that daemon, a new instance of the daemon is shown with the true status. For a short time, LM may show two daemons: one with an unused status and one with usage. As soon as the FLEXlm "info" job runs, the daemon with the unused status will disappear. This can take several minutes depending on the intervals between "info" job runs.
 

Did you find this article helpful?